Preble County
QuickSearch
 
Submit

Dog License


Download the dog license registration application



Ohio Dog Laws

Preble County follows the laws written in the Ohio Revised Code (ORC). The following sections have been provided as a resource for common questions regarding dog laws.

These sections are taken from codes.ohio.gov/orc

  • 955.01 Registration of Dogs
  • 955.04 Kennel Registration
  • 955.10 Tags to be worn
  • 955.21 Failure to register dog
  • 955.22 Confinement or restraint of dog
  • 955.261 Duties after dog bites person; quarantine
  • 955.28 Dog may be killed for certain acts - owner liable for damages
  • 955.51 Claim for value of livestock injured or killed by coyote
  • 959.01 Abandoning Animals
  • 959.02 Injuring Animals
  • 959.13 Cruelty to Animals
  • 959.16 Dog fighting offenses

  • Q & A regarding the licensing of your dog:

    When should I license my dog?
    The annual license renewal period is December 1st through January 31st. Puppies: You have until the puppy is 4 months old to license it. If you move into Preble County with a dog(s) or you just acquired a dog over 4 months of age, you must purchase a license within 30 days.

    Where do I purchase a dog license?
    Anytime through the year you may purchase a license by mail using the application on our web site or in person at the County Auditor’s office. During renewal time, several convenient locations in Preble County are established to issue dog licenses. Call the Auditor’s Office (937-456-8148) to find out where dog licenses will be sold. Kennel licenses are only sold at the County Auditor’s office.

    Must my dog wear a tag?
    YES. Ohio law requires it. See ORC 955.10. The dog warden may impound dogs without tags.

    Why do I need to license my dog?
    First, Ohio law requires that you license your dog. See ORC 955.01. Second, a license tag attached to your dog’s collar proves ownership and is your pet’s ticket home if she’s lost.

    What are dog license fees in Preble County?
    Individual dog license is $14. Kennel license consists of 5 tags and is $70. These prices are good during the December/January renewal period.

    What if I forget to buy my dog's license during the renewal period of December 1 through January 31?
    Ohio Law requires a late fee for licenses purchased after the sale date. Individual dog license is $14 plus a $14 late fee = $28 per dog. Kennel license is $70 plus a $70 late fee = $140. There are no provisions in the law to waive the late fee.

    Can I let my dog run loose if he is licensed?
    NO! Ohio law specifies that all dogs must be confined to your property or under reasonable control, such as on a leash while being walked. It is not safe to let your dog roam the neighborhood.

    What do I do if I find a lost dog?
    If the dog is wearing a Preble County license tag, call the Preble County Auditor’s office at (937) 456-8148 to find the owners name. If the dog is not wearing a license tag, call the dog warden at (937) 456-4818.

    What if I move within Preble County?
    If you move within Preble County, please call (937) 456-8148 with your new address and telephone number so we can keep your information up to date. If you move outside Preble County please contact your local county Auditor’s office.

    GIS parcel shapefile last updated 6/26/2017 11:40:37 AM.
    CAMA database last updated 6/25/2017 7:38:59 PM.